Telegraph Hill Park , SE14
Telegraph Hill Park is divided into two sections, the upper park and the lower park, separated by Kitto Road.
The upper park offers splendid views across London and is open twenty four hours a day making it perfect for dog owners. The lower park has two ponds, a children's playground and an ornamental garden. The ponds are very picturesque - it's easy to while away an hour or two watching the ducks traverse the lilies. The playground is also a popular venue. In summer local food vendors come to the park to make sure the little ones don't go too long without their fix of ice-cream.
Before the park was opened to the public in 1895 a large dairy farm resided on the slopes of the hill, owned by James Martin and Sons, at one time the largest employers in Brockley. The tennis courts of the upper park are built on top of where the old semaphore telegraph station used be and the origin of the park's name. This was a wooden hut that would open and close its shutters in different combinations to make 63 unique signals. Wellington's victory at Waterloo in 1815 was one of the victories transmitted to London via the semaphore station.